Breakfast

July 10, 2010

In my previous post I mentioned a breakbeat sample used in a silent film score. The sampled song, “It’s Just Begun”, has always reminded me of the Roxy Battle scene from Beat Street. The bboy battle is set to by “Breaker’s Revenge” by Arthur Baker – I’m not sure if Baker sampled the same song, but I think they certainly are related. This clip from the film is well worth watching – the best breakdancers in NYC auditioned for dance parts in the film so you’re watching some of the best breakdancers of the early eighties. The idea that breakdancing was essentially a means for teen gangs to battle without weapons may seem cheesy to some people, but I think that’s pretty fricken’ cool.

One Response to “Breakfast”

  1. jungalero1101 said

    I just watched this clip on my Netflix instant view- wow! Some amazing stops by the dancers! Definitely looking forward to watching the whole film.

Leave a Reply

