Greetings and Salutations

July 18, 2010

I am Jungalero. Sorry about my being a little late to the party (isn’t that what the truly hip party goers do? One never shows up early to a soiree.)…but I promise to do my share of posting/sharing to make this a fun destination for all of us and hopefully a few random others.

This is me, in my very first official sleeveface portrait:

In case you’re not familiar with the site Sleeveface, it’s centered around quite possibly my all-time favorite in general creation: photos involving a vinyl record sleeve, usually in place of someone’s head and/or body. There’s a book of photos from the site available on Amazon. Some of them can be quite creative, especially when the subject of the photo dresses in an identical way to the one of the artist on the sleeve. As you can see I tried to mimic Jack Paar‘s sweater (he’s “What’s His Name”) with a yellow blanket. The red vinyl (courtesy of my bedroom wall) was just a fun backdrop. Here’s another sleeveface involving my boyfriend:

Meow!

Hi babe! Love “Alley Cat”, especially when played on a Fisher Price record player, by the way.

I plan to make my posts varied, not just of fun videos & artifacts found on the ‘net, but also personal shares from my large music collection (which continues to grow by the day) and of my love for cult and so bad they’re good movies. In fact, to end my inaugural post, here’s a recently purchased piece of easy listening cheese, found in the form of an 101 Strings album called “Play and Sing Hits of Today And Other Hit Instrumentals”.

Here’s a version for your cell phone wallpaper. You know you want it.

I’ve chosen to share their version of the “Theme from ‘Mahogany’ (Do You Know Where You’re Going To)”, which I think contains a fitting sentiment, in that I and my fellow bloggers Vampdaddy and Funkschnecke don’t indeed know where this blog will take us….all we can hope for is some fun along the way.

PS. It’s funny that Funkschnecke should mention “Exorcist disco” in one of his previous posts, as there was indeed a disco song that was used in the ill-fated sequel Exorcist II: The Heretic, a film which I will be discussing in a future post…

2 Responses to “Greetings and Salutations”

  1. funkschnecke said

    It always strikes me as odd and funny that 60’s easy listening albums like 101 Strings’ “Play and Sing Hits…”, Herb Alpert’s “Whipped Cream and other Delights” and Paul Mauriat’s “Blooming Hits” have scantily clad, sexily posed women on the covers. Easy listening always came across to me as being the polar opposite of “sexy” music and musicians. I guess it would be like having a golf scene on a Snoop Dogg album… oh wait, Snoop Dogg is on a golf course in commercials!

  2. funkschnecke said

    I love the sleeve face images you added and can’t wait to see some more. I know you’ve been out there shopping!

Leave a Reply

