Can’t you feel it bang your sense of time?

April 20, 2011

Last weekend I was playing for my boyfriend my current favorite album (that I really should blog about) and one of the tracks features Ana Matronic from Scissor Sisters. He then asks if I’ve seen the latest Scissor Sisters video, “Invisible Light”, and I said no. He said it’s really brilliant. So I watched it.

And I’m now obsessed. (Warning: NSFW because of boobies.)

(You have to love a band with a sense of humor: The ‘clean version’ just positions black ‘CENSORED’ bars over the offending nudity (or also in the case of an underwear-clad crotch…really?), eliminating very little of the context.)

I absolutely love both this track and the video. The song has a brilliant build, and one killer chorus with those sweet falsetto vocals of Jake Shears…as Bee Gees-esque as ever. I feel bad having slept on this album because of my dislike of initial single offering Fire With Fire, but at least the video was only released last December.

And oh, this video. Like a 6 minute long-lost Italian giallo that was just unearthed. The aura is palpable, and it’s gorgeously shot. Here are a few favorite images from the clip:

If you love beautiful shots of locusts, be sure to watch the film "Days of Heaven".

If you love beautiful shots of colorful 60s capsules, be sure to watch the film "Valley of the Dolls".

If you love beautiful shots of psychedelics, be sure to watch the film "Beyond the Valley of the Dolls".

If you love beautiful shots like the above, youre most likely high. Right now.

2 Responses to “Can’t you feel it bang your sense of time?”

  1. funkschnecke said

    I love your categories/keywords for this blog entry, especially: Fantastic Use of Mud Coinciding with Drum Track Sound, which automatically has it’s own page on the Blogosphere!

    http://en.wordpress.com/tag/fantastic-use-of-mud-coinciding-with-drum-track-sound/

    You may have noticed that at times I like to have fun with these categories and keywords too!

  2. vampdaddy said

    There is so much to love about this — further proof I should pay more attention to Scissor Sisters!

Leave a Reply

